Don’t Feed the Ferrets Without Permission – Rebekah Loper

This week, we’re kicking it off with some interviews from each of us, so you can get a picture of who, exactly, we are! I, Rebekah, drew the short straw, so I’ll go first. I’ll be followed through the week by Michelle, Lissa, Jess, Eris, and Serena.

Rebekah LoperName: Rebekah Loper

Meyers-Briggs: INTJ

Favorite Beverage: Hot tea. Almost any kind. Especially Harney & Son’s Hot Cinnamon Spice. Or chai. I love chai. And select kinds of coffee. Just about anything pumpkin flavored, too.

Favorite Genre(s) to Read: Fantasy, thriller/suspense, some historical, limited romance.

Favorite Place to Read: The bathtub, the bed, or the hammock :D. Do you see the “in a reclined position” trend here?

Things you do when you’re not writing: Gardening, sewing, reading. I’m very domestic, lol. Or at least I try to be. The kitchen is usually a disaster.

Favorite Genre(s) to Write: Fantasy. And sometimes random flash-fiction. Is fan-fiction a genre, too?

Writing Tool You Can’t Live Without: Technically, my hands. I don’t know what I’d do without them. Otherwise – pen & paper. I prefer writing with a computer to type on, but I absolutely require pen & paper for brainstorming and character development. And, if necessary, writing. Because sometimes a computer just isn’t around.

Random Question from Eris:

What are the top 5 cooking ingredients you can’t live without, and the one you want to do away with? (Hover over photos for attribution.)

By Carmelo Domini (Flickr) [CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia CommonsExtra Virgin Olive Oil – the only thing this ISN’T good for is deep-frying. I’ve always loved olives, and when my mom started using olive oil for baking, etc, about 20 years ago, this was an easy switch for me. My mom doesn’t like the flavor of it, but I hardly notice it, and when I do notice it, it’s usually because I like it. This is also EXTREMELY good for you, from a health-perspective.

By Donovan Govan. [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/)], via Wikimedia CommonsGarlic – I just love garlic. You can use it in almost any non-dessert dish, and once again, also extremely healthy for you. (You’ll notice the “healthy” thing being a theme here.)

By Christian Mertes (Mudd1 12:26, 18 April 2007 (UTC)) (Own work) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html), CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/) or CC-BY-SA-2.5-2.0-1.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.5-2.0-1.0)], via Wikimedia CommonsSea Salt – it has a lower sodium level than iodized table salt, which is something people in my family have had to keep an eye on, so I’m just getting in the habit of it early. But I also love the crunch of sea salt on baked potato skins…

Public DomainFlour – really, what kitchen is a kitchen without flour of some sort? Even if you have to use rice flour (which I don’t, THANK GOD). Now, you don’t have to go to my extreme (I keep a couple different varieties of wheat berries on hand and grinding flour as I need it, but you should have a decent, unbleached flour on hand. Whole wheat flour is always the best option, health-wise ;), though it doesn’t make a very good French bread. I keep white, unbleached flour, two different kinds of whole wheat flour, and cake flour, on hand.

By George Shuklin (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-1.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/1.0)], via Wikimedia CommonsRaw Honey – I use honey instead of sugar for probably 90% of my baking and sweetening needs. Honey is a natural antibacterial agent, and can help build up allergen resistance (especially for people with pollen problems), especially with the usage of raw, LOCAL, unfiltered honey.

By André Karwath aka Aka (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-2.5 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.5)], via Wikimedia CommonsLemon Juice – this is the ingredient I can’t stand. I’m mildly allergic to lemon juice (contact with the juice makes me break out in a minor bout of hives), and I never use lemons enough ANYWAY to keep them on hand, so when I’m in the middle of a recipe and they randomly go “add X amount of lemon juice”, I usually go “WTF, why?!” If I could never use lemon juice again, I’d be thrilled. I’ve started experimenting with vinegar, when the lemon juice is needed for its acidic content, or white wine, when needed for flavoring in a non-dessert dish, as substitutes.

Rebekah Loper is a writer, wife, and urban farmer, and prefers fantasy to reality most of the time. She also blogs at Rebekah Loper, Writer, and can be found on Twitter and Facebook.

2 thoughts on “Don’t Feed the Ferrets Without Permission – Rebekah Loper

    • Oh, I like lemon flavor itself. I will devour an entire pan of lemon bars… single-handed. Lemon drops are one of my favorite candies.

      But actual, fresh lemon, or exposure to lemon juice before it’s cooked in something? Yeah, we’re not on good terms.

Leave a Reply

