Need an Editor?

This Monday, I posted on my personal blog about offering editorial services to all you writers out there, and I thought I would pop by here to spread the invitation. Here’s what I’m offering, (and yes, I did copy and paste this directly from my blog!):

“Here’s what I do. Not only do I read your work and offer comments and edits as I can (as an editor would), but then I also write up an analysis of your work, identifying your themes and motifs, outline the plot arc (identifying what works and what doesn’t), your characters’ development arcs, and offer insight on the story as a cohesive whole.

Think of it as a dissertation a graduate student would write for their literature course–except it’s on your story. This will give you a unique view on the inner workings of your story that you may not have been aware of previously.

To get this gig off the ground, I’m offering these services at $1.50 per 1,000 words. (I’m putting a minimum of $10 on it though. And yes, that does mean that I do short stories!) I accept payments through Paypal, because frankly, it’s super easy.

If you’re interested, please email me at eris.oreilly@gmail.com with your story’s title, genre, synopsis, and length. I’m only taking a few projects right now, so I should have a relatively quick turn around time–which I will estimate for you in my return email.

Also, as a final note, I will accept submissions of every fiction genre except poetry. This has nothing to do with poets, and everything to do with the fact I have absolutely no talent in poetry. Even the simplest rhymes awe and stupefy me. I literally can offer no useful insight on poetry beyond “Oh wow! It’s so pretty! I LOVE IT YAY! :D” Which isn’t useful to you at all.

(However, if you do have a poem or two, I may know a few people that can help. I can get you in contact with them, if you really need a poetry edit.)

Thank you all very much! I look forward to seeing what you guys have!”

-Eris

4 thoughts on “Need an Editor?

  1. Laura Weymouth says:

    I’m going to save your contact info, because while I don’t have anything edit-ready yet, I’m hoping to in the next half a year or so (oh gosh that seems like a long time >_<). I'll shoot you an email when the current WIP is finished and readable, and if you have time at that point, hopefully we can work something out! 🙂

    • Fantastic! And yeah, the six months thing sounds like such a long time, but it’s amazing how quickly it flies by! My own six months goal for myself is quickly coming to an end. (I just keep telling myself that I work better under pressure. I’m not sure that’s reassuring anymore. :P)

Leave a Reply

