Diary Entry: Messes of Minds and Houses

From time to time you may see a ‘diary entry’ from a Ferret. The majority of our personal things may be found on our own individual blogs, but sometimes we just don’t have any grand advice to bestow or funny antics to relate. When that happens and it’s our turn to talk for the week… you just might get a page out of our ‘diary’.

When I have a cluttered mind I can’t create.

There have been plenty of people to tell me, “Push past the rough-and-tumble of your daily life! Create anyway! Do it every day!”

That may work for some, but it certainly does not for me. And on those days when I force myself to create (and not just remind myself that it is okay to actually take time to create)… I not only hate what ends up on paper, but I begin to hate everything about the process. I find myself very depressed about writing at all. And that, my friends, is the very last state I need to push myself to for the sake of art.

I have a personal hang-up when doing any activity I enjoy, and that is that I always, alwaysalways feel guilty doing it in the first place if there are chores to be done. Laundry, dishes, dusting, vacuuming, picking up the house. It gets the best of me. 

Right now, my house is a disaster. The disorganization and knowledge of useless clutter is killing me on the inside. So I read “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up” by Marie Kondo. I didn’t expect anything grand, but, well, the results so far are pretty grand. If you are at all interested, that particular talk will be going up in a several-part post on my own blog, Windy Words, beginning sometime in either June or July.

The point being, perhaps I have at last found a way to clear the guilty clutter of my surroundings so that I may find both the time and the soul space to write and pursue all the other things I love most dearly to do.

In the meantime I take moments to think. To consider. To look ahead. When I have no more excuses to myself, what exactly will I work on?

That time is unclear, but for now this brings me peace. And, perhaps, something even more.

What things in life prevent you from committing to your art?

Leave a Reply

