Getting Your Groove Back

Or, how to write again after a long break.

Except, this post isn’t the normal helpful list of tips and tricks on how to get your writing schedule back on track. It’s actually the opposite: a plea for help.

See, I took about three months off from writing to work on a web-comic (which can be found here!). I didn’t necessarily plan on not writing at all, but it just seemed to work out that way. Mostly because I was a lot busier than I had expected with all the artwork and getting things ready for the comic that I didn’t really have time for anything else.

That isn’t to say I haven’t been thinking about writing at all. I have gobs of notes and little ideas jotted down, new ideas and snippets of inspiration I’ve had in the middle of the mess of artwork I’ve found myself under.

I want to get back into writing again. My comic is going well and there’s definitely time in my day to take writing back up again. And I’ve tried a bit of it… but…

It’s like I’ve forgotten how.

And it’s not even trying to pick stories back up that I had started before I took a break and never finished. New stuff is hard to even get started. I spent about three hours the other day trying to write a few measly sentences, which I ended up throwing away.

Anyway, I wanted to know if any of you have ever managed to take writing back up after a long break, and what you did to do so. I’m not expecting some kind of… miracle writing cure or anything. But if you stumbled on some technique or exercise that you felt really helped, I’d like to hear it.

Or if you just wanted to share in my misery (what with misery and company and love and all), I’d be up for that, too. 🙂

-Eris.

 

One thought on “Getting Your Groove Back

  1. It can be tough, but you just gotta keep trying, I reckon. Push past the awful first sentences without looking back, get your brain and fingers back in sync…it should get easier. If not, maybe pick a different scene to start with, or a different character, or story. Approach it from another angle. Write a prologue you’ll never use. I know nothing about how you work or what you are writing, but these are the sorta things I’d try. If you are an artist, maybe draw the scene first?

Leave a Reply

