The Writer’s Pursuit of Health – Trying and Failing at This Health Thing

The Writer's Pursuit of Health, Trying and Failing at This Health Thing, Eris O'Reilly, Rabid Rainbow Ferret Society, health, writing, physical health, failing, making unhealthy choices

So, I can might have noticed from the time stamp, I’m late with this post. And it’s not for lack of trying. Eleven (!!) times I’ve started and ultimately erased the draft for this thing.

Any advice I could have given has been said. And even so, I don’t really have a lot of advice to give. I’m not in the best of health myself–and yeah, I’ve been making strides in my own life to try to get healthier but still. I’m actually still a pretty unhealthy person. I barely exercise. I’ve only just now managed to get my eating under some semblance of control, and even then I can go days between eating anything green or vaguely vegetable-like.

I know what I should be doing. I should be getting up in the morning to do some cardio or lift weights or whatever. I should be eating …. what is it now? Two servings of greens and two servings of fruit? Three and two? Four and three? Man, I don’t even know anymore. Definitely more vegetables should be happening in my diet, is my point.

About the only thing I’m even relatively proud of is that I did almost sort of cut out sugar from my diet. Except for that birthday cake this weekend. And the pumpkin bread last night. And the sugar I put in my daily, usually multiple, cups of coffee.


Point is, I know what I should be doing. I just don’t do it. I can’t tell you why not, just that I don’t. Sometimes it’s because I have my writing and art as a higher priority than myself (and man, isn’t that a bit messed up when you think about it), but other times… it’s just… I don’t. I just don’t do it. And the vast majority of people that I talk to seem to be in the same boat. Even the people who don’t seem like they’re struggling with their health will tell you all the things they wish they were better at but aren’t.

Look, I’ve got nothing. I’m in the same boat as you guys, I guess.

On top of that, every time (until now?) that I’ve tried to write about this–this topic about health and being healthy and all that–all my old body issues and insecurities flair up, and I get deeply, deeply unhappy.

So instead, here’s some links to recipes and exercises and stuff.

Deskercise. A whole bunch of exercises designed to be done (mostly sneakily) at work. The swiveling the desk chair back and forth is actually pretty fun.

A beginner body weight workout plan. I think it’s mostly aimed at dudes, but since it’s geared for A) beginners and B) using your OWN body weight, I think it could be pretty universally implemented. I mean, a pushup is pretty much a pushup, yeah?

Darabee. This place has a lot of easy to print out pre-built workouts. Also, they have a lot of ones crafted towards certain characters, like Wonder Woman and Batman. It makes the little geek heart in me sing.

Recipes? Hah. Turns out all I have saved are recipes for cookies and pies which I pretty much should never eat again ever (but for reals though try that with 2 parts oats and 1 part shredded coconut; it’s the best).

But here’s what I know about food:

  • Non-fat plain Greek yogurt has the same consistency and nearly the same taste as sour cream, and can be pretty easily substituted for the stuff. Although from what I heard, this only really works if you already like Greek yogurt.
  • Equal parts soy sauce and honey makes a really great marinade OR sauce for chicken and/or Asian-style noodles.
  • Dole and other vegetable companies have salad kits (the greens and toppings and dressing all in one bag) that are actually pretty tasty.
  • Brussels sprouts should never be boiled, only roasted. Preferably with lots and lots of garlic.
  • Eggs every day for breakfast get really really boring but I have yet to find a good substitute for the amount of protein they give you that is also easy to cook when you are still half asleep and working on your first cup of coffee.

And that’s… it, I guess. All I know is that arguably I’m healthier than I was last year. But am I healthier than I was ten years ago? I don’t know. Happier, sort of. Less obsessive, certainly. But healthier? …Maybe not.

I don’t know. This is all I’ve got so far.

-Eris

One thought on “The Writer’s Pursuit of Health – Trying and Failing at This Health Thing

Leave a Reply

