NaNoWriMo Is Coming

NaNoWriMo participants 2017It’s that time of year…NaNoWriMo is upon us once more!

As those of you who’ve been following us for awhile know, National Novel Writing Month is what brought the Ferrets together (Michelle, Serena, and Rebekah met in 2009, then met Lissa in 2010 when Michelle and Rebekah took over MLing duties, Michelle pulled Jess* along in early 2011, and then Eris joined up in NaNo 2011).

Since then, we’ve all participated in some form or fashion, although this year is going to be a little more rebellious** than others! As usual, we’ll have weekly updates during November as we check in on our projects, and you can follow our daily progress on the NaNo site itself.

If you’ve always wanted to write a novel but just can’t find the time, I cannot encourage you enough to sign up for NaNo and get involved with your local region. It’s been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life, which is why I come back to do it every year not only as a participant, but as an ML as well, so that I can help other people achieve their writing dreams.

There’s still time to sign up, so why not give it a go?

And without further ado, here’s what we’re working on this year!

Rebekah (Rebekah Loper) – New novel

Unlike last year, NaNo hasn’t really snuck up on me, but Life has hit in full force for 2017. We had to say goodbye to our elderly cat, Winnie, back in June. It’s very weird to be starting a NaNo without her. Then the kitchen ceiling caved in (literally). All this was happening as I worked on getting The A-Zs of Worldbuilding out. So I’m feeling a little stretched thin already, even before everything else that is currently going on.

But on the writing front, I’m so ready to work on some fiction again. I’ve mainly been focused on blogging & A-Zs for the last year and a half. I actually have an idea I’m excited about this year, even though my plot is… almost non-existent. But the gist is that my main character is an herbalist mother who saves the heroes on their quest (repeatedly) because they keep trying to eat poisonous plants. There is more to the story than that, and we’ll see how close to that it sticks, but that’s the bare bones idea that started it all.

Michelle (The Barenaked Critic) – Rewriting 2008 NaNo project

I attempted this novel (a sequel to my very first NaNo project ever) in 2008 and stalled out at 60k, and then again for Camp NaNo in 2012 and stalled out around 30k. Rereading attempt #2 earlier this year, I was struck by how much I love and miss this world and these characters, so I’m hoping the third time will be the charm. I’m not sure I’ll actually be able to finish this novel (I have a feeling it’s going to be a bit sprawling, with all the ideas I have), but if I can get a full 50k on it, that’ll put me well on my way to getting there.

And it’ll be really interesting to see how I approach this novel at age 33 as opposed to age 24…

Eris (Eris O’Reilly) – 50 comic pages

This year I’m rebelling and I’m working on my webcomic, Queen’s Rogues, instead of a novel. My goal will be 50 pages instead of 50,000 words because—brace yourselves—a picture is worth a thousand words.

Sorry. I just had to.

Anyway, terrible joke aside, that really is my goal. And I’m mostly prepared for it. I need to make a final pass at the script to make sure everything is ready to go for midnight, where I will start laying out the thumbnails for (hopefully) all 50 pages…Then it’ll be time to sketch.

All in all, I’m hoping for a very productive NaNo season.

Serena (Kalira9) – Still unsure

Well, normally, I would be aiming for 100k about this time (I even had a plan for my dual projects, I EVEN HAD SOME OUTLINING DONE), but considering I went into the ICU on Saturday after the muscle fatigue and weakness I’ve been struggling with for months reached a critical juncture, I feel like it’s best if I revise my goal down a bit. 😛

If we can get things figured out and start on a treatment plan, then hopefully I’ll be feeling well enough to shoot for 50k this month on whichever project grabs me. But hey, I usually wait until the very last minute to come up with my NaNo ideas—that’s half the fun, isn’t it? XD

All the same, I’m still planning to start working tonight on my phone with clumsy fingers from my hospital bed. Maybe it won’t be on one of my intended projects, but it will be writing. Because why let a little thing like hospitalization keep me down?

Lissa (quidam87) – 50 hours of poetry

Just like last year I’m working on a poetry collection (the same one even) and just like last year my goal is 50 hours in keeping with the spirit of NaNo. Unlike last year I am actually aware of how much effort 50 hours of writing takes when keeping a full-time job and juggling occasional health issues. Does that mean I’ll hit goal? Who knows. It does mean I’m more prepared in trying for that goal at least.

Last year I wrote for 17 hours and 1 minute. If I manage even 1 minute more this year, it will be a small personal win even if not a goal-accomplishing win. How many poems will I finish? I suppose I’ll find out on November 30th! I’m just hoping to make more progress on this giant project so that it can see the light of day sooner rather than later. And so it can stop eating my brain.

Jessica (JadeKitsune) – Journaling

To say this year has been one of changes and upheaval is a bit of an understatement. I found out I was pregnant right before New Year’s, which means I spent most of this year dealing with the associated life changes of being pregnant, the life changes of selling our house and moving to a new one with space for a baby, and the life changes of actually having a baby when my son, Michael, was born in August.

So much has happened and I’ve had so little time to process it all that I wanted that to be my NaNo goal: taking the time to journal so that I can process the emotional, mental, and physical journey I’ve taken this year. My goal is to write at least 70 words a day in my journal.


As you can see, we’ve got quite a variety of goals for NaNoWriMo 2017. Check back here for weekly updates on how we’re progressing!

And if you’re joining us in the madness of NaNoWriMo, good luck!

*Michelle and Jessica have known each other since they were in diapers. Literally. They were a package deal.
**NaNo Rebels: Someone who is doing something other than writing a brand-new novel for NaNoWriMo. Since only Rebekah is writing a new novel, all the rest of us are Rebels!

One thought on “NaNoWriMo Is Coming

Leave a Reply

